Goodbye, my beautiful tomatoes!

The beauty of growing your own food is that you really get to cherish the rich flavor of the produce. The sad part about growing your own food (and committing to eating only locally-grown produce) is that there comes a time when you have to say goodbye to tomatoes. At least to tomatoes by the truckload (which is the way I like ’em).

 

I picked the last of them this weekend. Next weekend I’ll dig up the vines, let the chickens at them, and then put them in the compost pile.

On Saturday, we made pizza with homemade pesto sauce and some roasted tomatoes I had in the freezer. As soon as I bit that little slice of heaven, I knew that I hadn’t roasted enough tomatoes for the winter. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get pounds more at the farmers’ markets in the next few weeks.

Comments Off on Goodbye, my beautiful tomatoes!

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.