Chickens 3; Vegetables 0

Happy New Year!

Now that it’s almost February . . .

I haven’t been posting much lately, and the reason is

that I’ve been in despair about our little farmette. Here’s the situation:

In December, and again in January, I laid out winter crops in seed flats. I covered them from cold weather, watered them, kept building the sheet mulch beds to receive them. And sure enough, up they sprouted: Detroit Red and Chioga beets, a few varieties of Nante carrots, swiss and red chard, laccinato kale, some varieties of Romaine lettuce.

Once they reached a good 2-3 inches, I planted them in the beds. Within a week, they were decimated. Destroyed. Eaten down to their roots. Each time, it was a month-long investment lost. The problem? The chickens flew over the two-foot fence we had up around the vegetables and ate it all.

I got discouraged enough to stop trying until I could come up with a plan for a higher fence that I could still get in and out of easily. In the meantime, we kept letting the chicks out into the backyard when we were home.

Yesterday, B (she of B.I.N.G. and O. fame) flew over a six-foot fence into our neighbor’s yard. Luckily, The Wife was home, noticed she was gone, and found her. (And equally luckily, that particular yard belongs to a deserted house, a victim of the recession — so there was no animal next door to eat our chicken).

But that did it. No more chickens in the backyard. This weekend, The Wife is going to extend the run about 10 feet in another direction, so that they can have as much space as possible, and still be contained. Hopefully then I can start planting without dreading future signs of destruction.

So. New Year, new plans, new food production. Here’s to growth!

1 Comment

Filed under chickens, farming, Uncategorized

One response to “Chickens 3; Vegetables 0

  1. David

    Oops there goes another rubber tree…