No Impact Man documentary

Last night, I watched No Impact Man, a documentary about Colin Beavan and Michelle Conlin’s choice to try and make as little environmental impact for one year while living in Manhattan.

I most identified with Michelle’s obsession with coffee (sadly for me), but was interested by their choices, and impressed by their commitment — especially Michelle’s, since it wasn’t her “dream,” yet required her commitment.

I wouldn’t make some of the choices they made, but respect their experiment. I am fascinated by how diverse the range of choices can be that people can make to lessen the damage we collectively create, and improve the quality of our lives.

I am one month away from rejoining the workforce after a semester’s leave, and am constantly thinking about what it will take to maintain the life we’ve created over the past year when I am back to commuting 64 miles round-trip 4-5 days per week. I tend to cave when faced with the logistics of my worklife in addition to my family life.

But here’s what I’m thinking, so far.

  1. Although the bus system in East Contra Costa County is horrid and frustrating, I really want to commit myself to commuting via public transportation or bicycle at least 3 out of the 4 days I commute. Since I am training for a marathon in October, perhaps I can even run the 10-mile round trip once a week, if I plan things well enough. (That’s a large IF there, folks.)
  2. I want to commit to making and packing all meals, and not supporting the truly awful cafeteria at my college or the big-box stores surrounding it. You would think that’s easy, given how much food we produce and how much I cook, but I tend to think of myself last when it comes to getting ready for the day, so I will have to be much more conscious of my own needs in order to make this happen. Sounds like a win-win situation to me!
  3. The food-preparation thing includes caffeine consumption as well, which has been surprisingly hard for me. I realize how much I count on going to cafes (both local and national chains) for an “outing” during the day. When I think of how pathetic that sounds, and of how much money that consumes — let alone the disposable cups . . . . let’s just say it’s a work in progress.
  4. No #4. Three is enough, thank you very much.

I’ll keep posting on my progress. The commuting part will be the hardest, given the kids’ school locations and schedules. Actually, who am I kidding? Having to leave my house will be the hardest. I’ve been very fortunate this past six months.

Comments Off on No Impact Man documentary

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.